The Number of Web Talks for Bicentenary of the Birth of the Báb Keeps Growing

The list of Web Talks to help you prepare for and understand better the bicentenary of the Birth of Báb has grown to ten. The new talk, entitled “Shaykh Tabarsi: A Turning Point in the Bábí Faith,” is scheduled for May 5. Dr. Siyamak Zabihi-Moghaddam holds a doctorate in Middle Eastern history from the University of Haifa and has written about this famous episode in Bábí history.

You can sign up now to reserve your spot for the live talks. And you can also plan a community gathering to listen to any of the talks about twenty-four hours after the live talk. Plan a potluck. Then listen to the talk and have a community discussion.

Most Web Talks are broadcast live on Sundays at 2 p.m. Eastern Time (1 p.m. CT; 12 noon MT, 11 a.m. PT, 7 p.m. in the UK, and 8 p.m. in Western Europe). Note that the March 16 Talk begins at 9 p.m. EST.

Here is the updated list of bicentenary Web Talks:

THIS WEB TALK IS NOW AVAILABLE ON THE WILMETTE INSTITUTE’S YOUTUBE CHANNEL:
Shahrokh Monjazeb
“A Divine Exposition for the New Age: A Textual Analysis of the Persian Bayán”
Recorded on Sunday, January 13, 2019

UPCOMING WEB TALKS FOR WHICH YOU CAN SIGN UP:
Saturday, March 16, 2019, 9:00 p.m. Eastern Time
Dr. Peter Smith
“Recruitment and Organization in the Bábí and early Bahá’í Movements: A Resource Mobilization Perspective”

Sunday, May 5, 2019
“Shaykh Tabarsi: A Turning Point in the Bábí Faith”
Dr. Siyamak Zabihi-Moghaddam

Sunday, June 2, 2019
Baharieh Maani Rohani
“Women of Consequence in the Life of the Báb”

Bicentenary Medallion designed by Joe PaczowskiSunday, July 7, 2019
Dr. Todd Lawson
“The Báb’s Artistry in His Commentary on the Súrih of Joseph”

Sunday, July 21, 2019
Dr. Todd Lawson
“Blessed Beauty in Islam, Joseph as Divine Manifestation (Understanding the Báb’s Audience)”

Sunday, August 4, 2019
Dr. Todd Lawson
“The Báb’s Great Announcement to Mulla Husayn: Chapter One of the Qayyúm al-Asmá’, The Súrih of Dominion (Mulk)”

Sunday, August 18, 2019
Dr. Steven Phelps
“Overview of the Writings of the Báb”

Sunday, September 15, 2019
Dr. Armin Eschraghi
“The Báb’s Tablet about the Special Prophethood of Muhammad”

Sunday, December 1, 2019
Dr. Michael Day
“The Shrine of the Báb: Recent Research Findings on Its Establishment, Completion, and Embellishment”

Celebrating the Bicentenary graphic by Joe PaczkowskiOnline Courses for the Bicentenary. Between February and September, the Wilmette Institute has five more courses for the bicentenary of the birth of the Báb. They include:

  • The Life of the Báb (February 5)
  • The Bábí Faith, 1844–1863: Rediscovering the Dawnbreakers (April 25)
  • The Báb’s Qayyúmu’l-Asmá: Commentary on the Qur’an’s Súrih of Joseph (July 15);
  • The Writings of the Báb (August 25)
  • Sharing the Bicentenary of the Birth of the Báb with Children (September 16)