Anti-Black Racism in the U.S. and Building a Unified Society

This course will examine anti-Black racism and racial prejudice in North American society in some of its most serious manifestations, explore the content and significance of relevant Bahá’í authoritative texts, and consider how Bahá’ís can initiate meaningful conversations and public discourse in a variety of contexts. It will begin with an exploration of definitions of race, racism, and prejudice. It will then turn to such subjects as understanding colonialism and slavery; the prison/industrial complex; Black Lives Matter and policing issues; white privilege and bias/stereotyping; housing and education segregation; violence against black women; Jim Crow and the Civil Rights Movement; and “one human family”—the experience of the Bahá’í community. Note: This course features weekly Zoom sessions on Sundays at 4:00 pm Eastern Time (1:00 pm Pacific, 3:00 pm Central Time), starting the first weekend of the course. Important Dates (Tentative) Saturday, March 11 (Time TBC) Upstander Workshop (2 hours)  Saturday,  March 25 (11 am and 5 pm Pacific/2 pm and 8 pm Eastern): Showing of “Stokely and Martin” a 1-hour play by Najee Brown, followed by a discussion led by a faculty member.  Optional, Saturday, April 1 (4 pm Pacific/7 pm Eastern): Showing of “The Bus Stop” a 2-hour play by Najee Brown.