Courses by Department

Discussions with the faculty in 2017 led to a decision to establish just four departments initially. As the departments mature, they can be split into smaller and more focused areas of study. The Institute is starting with these departments and sections:

  • Social Transformation (covering such subjects as climate change and sustainable development, consultation, economics, the equality of the sexes, race unity and racism, world federation, world peace, and so on)
  • Bahá’í History and Texts (covering the writings of the Báb, Bahá’u’lláh, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, Shoghi Effendi, and the Universal House of Justice)
  • Relationships, Marriage, Parenting, and Family
    Relationships and Marriage Section
    Parenting Section
  • Religion, Philosophy, and Theology (covering such subjects as interfaith dialogue and science and religion)
  • Independent Sections
    The Arts (including Literature)
    Bahá’í Community Life

Eventually all the departments may have sections, like the Department of Relationships, Marriage, Parenting, and Family. The Department for Social Transformation has a series of teams, one for each of the subjects listed above; they are free to organize themselves as they wish.

2019 and 2020 Courses by Department (PDF)